The Worst They Can Say Is “No”

Husband has alway been telling me not to sell myself short. He is my rock, shield and support.

Asset 93

I have always been slightly self-conscious.

Okay, I have always been really self-conscious.

I can have a 100% pleasant conversation with someone, and immediately feel I acted “a fool.” Perhaps this is because I constantly look for traits I admire about others instead of looking for those traits within myself.

Every single time I think about doing something significant, I have that deep inhale coupled with the exhale of “What am I thinking? Of course I’m not good enough.”

Advice is like having a constant friend.

When I say constant, I mean it sticks around even if we ignore it or treat it poorly. Like that friend who is always right in the most frustrating sense.

Husband is blessed (deservingly) with the utmost confidence in himself and ability, especially when it comes to business. Every single time he has an opportunity to better himself, he takes it no matter the potential outcomes.

Some of my favorite mantras:

You never know until you try.

Never say never.

and, my favorite:

The worst they can say is “no.”

Since I graduated college, I have had so many opportunities come my way.

Why did I overlook them?

Because I have a nasty habit of immediately assuming I am not worth most opportunities. Because I’m terrified of the word “NO.”

Even if I know i will not get the opportunity, there is still benefit to trying. For example, getting an interview for a position you’re a little under-qualified for can open a different network through the people leading interview.

I cannot let the word “NO” define my life or career.

Training myself to think more confidently means addressing my self-consciousness and getting over my weaknesses.

Listening to advice is easy.

Taking advice, on the other hand, is like taking a spoonful of medicine: you know it will be tart and horrific but can cure you in the end. From personal experience, I can tell you the medicine is worth it. All you have to do is take it once to overcome your aggressive fears. Thank you, Husband for being so patient and wonderful.

That is my weekend wisdom.

Asset 94

Thank you for reading. 🙂

9 thoughts on “The Worst They Can Say Is “No”

    1. I am glad you enjoyed it! It is so true, too. Sometimes hearing the simplest of phrases such as this can help make the most complex decisions easy! Go forth and conquer, Chris!

      Like

  1. Motivation is wonderful…it can often help those who are on the edge of not doing something, that they really need to just give a try…and the worst that can happen sometimes is just NOT trying it (when they really wanted to). Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed the read! Yes it’s so true. The world isn’t so scary once you recognize the worst that can happen isn’t that bad. 🙂 my husband is so good at motivating me. When I say “It’s dark,” he’s opening the curtain saying, “just look outside and you’ll see the sun.”

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! They’re actually mine! I design them in adobe illustrator (my fave) and then drop them into the media outlet for WordPress. Since they’re .png’s, they are saved as transparent to make them look like they’re drawn into the text. (No photo border etc) I have a giant file of the cumulative graphics I’ve made over the months.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

